Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP, a Delaware limited liability partnership | This website contains attorney advertising.
May 11, 2018

Indiana Primary Election Summary

Voters in Indiana cast their ballots on Tuesday for the 2018 primary elections, determining the fates of candidates at the federal, state and local level. Here’s a closer look at the results of these primary contests.

Federal Primary Elections

Among the most watched primaries in the nation was the Indiana U.S. Republican Senate primary. This heated race featured three well-funded competitors aggressively attacking each other. After the polls closed, former state legislator Mike Braun won the nomination with 41.2 percent of the vote. Congressmen Todd Rokita and Luke Messer lost with 30.0 percent and 28.8 percent of the vote respectively. Mike Braun will now go on to face Democratic incumbent Joe Donnelly, who was unopposed in the primaries, in the general election. Joe Donnelly’s U.S. Senate seat is thought to be one of the most vulnerable seats in the 2018 election.

In a couple of tightly contested U.S. Congress primaries, State Representative Jim Baird and Vice President Mike Pence’s brother, Greg Pence, won the GOP nomination in the 4th and 6th Districts, respectively. The matchups in the general election for each Indiana Congressional District are as follows:

  1. (D) Peter Visclosky vs. (R) Mark Leyva
  2. (D) Mel Hall vs. (R) Jackie Walorski
  3. (D) Courtney Tritch vs. (R) Jim Banks
  4. (D) Tobi Beck vs. (R) Jim Baird
  5. (D) Dee Thornton vs. (R) Susan Brooks
  6. (D) Jeannine Lake vs. (R) Greg Pence
  7. (D) Andre Carson vs. (R) Wayne Harmon
  8. (D) William Tanoos vs. (R) Larry Bucshon
  9. (D) Liz Watson vs. (R) Trey Hollingsworth

State Primary Elections

In addition to the federal primaries, Indiana also held its primary elections for the Indiana State House of Representatives and the Senate. All 100 seats for the House are up for reelection this year, and 25 of the 50 Senate seats are up for reelection. Notable primary losses include two incumbents — both in Republican primaries. Sen. Joe Zakas of District 11 lost to Linda Rogers, and Rep. Richard Hamm of District 56 lost to Bradley Barrett. You can view all Senate and House general election matchups in the tables below.

Statewide Officials

Both the Republican and Democrat parties will choose their candidates for the three statewide elected officials in June at state conventions. Those offices include secretary of state, state treasurer and state auditor. All three seats are currently held by Republicans seeking reelection.

2018 Indiana State Senate Elections

Note: Incumbent office-holders are highlighted in yellow.

District Republican Democrat
1 Charles Kallas Frank Mrvan
4 Cole Stultz Karen Tallian
6 Rick Niemeyer Ryan Farrar
11 Linda Rogers Edward A. Liptrap
14 Dennis Kruse OPEN
15 Liz Brown Kathy Zoucha
17 Andy Zay Gary Snyder
19 Travis Holdman OPEN
21 James Buck Christina Fivecoate
22 Ron Alting Sherry Shipley
23 Phil Boots OPEN
25 Zaki Ali Tim Lanane
26 Mike Gaskill Dave Cravens
27 Jeff Raatz Jerome (Jake) Hoog
29 Mike Delph J.D. Ford
31 James Merritt Derek Camp
38 Jon Ford Chris Gambill
39 Eric Bassler OPEN
41 Greg Walker Ross Thomas
43 Chip Perfect OPEN
45 Chris Garten John Perkins
46 Ron Grooms Anna Murray
47 Erin Houchin Nick Siler
48 Mark Messmer OPEN
49 Jim Tomes Edie Hardcastle

2018 Indiana State House Elections

District Republican Democrat
1 OPEN Carolyn Jackson
2 OPEN Earl Harris Jr.
3 OPEN Ragen Hatcher
4 Ed Soliday Frank Szczepanski
5 Dale DeVon Donald Westerhausen
6 OPEN Pat Bauer
7 Troy Dillon Joe Taylor
8 OPEN Ryan Dvorak
9 Dan Granquist Patricia Boy
10 OPEN Chuck Moseley
11 Michael Aylesworth Delano Scaife
12 OPEN Mara Candelaria Reardon
13 Sharon Negele Loretta Barnes
14 OPEN Vernon Smith
15 Hal Slager Chris Chyung
16 Doug Gutwein Christina Zacny
17 Jack Jordan OPEN
18 David Wolkins Dee Moore
19 Julie Olthoff Lisa Beck
20 Jim Pressel OPEN
21 Tim Wesco OPEN
22 Curt Nisly OPEN
23 Ethan Manning Terry Doran
24 Donna Schaibley Naomi Bechtold
25 Don Lehe Maurice Fuller
26 Sally Siegrist OPEN
27 OPEN Sheila Klinker
28 Jeff Thompson Harlan L. Vondersaar II
29 Chuck Goodrich Tracy Roberts
30 Michael Karickhoff OPEN
31 Kevin Mahan Lynn Johnson
32 Tony Cook Amie Neiling
33 John Prescott Shon Byrum
34 OPEN Sue Errington
35 Ben Fisher Melanie Wright
36 Jennifer Culp Terri Austin
37 Todd Huston Aimee Cole
38 Heath VanNatter Thomas Hedde
39 Jerry Torr Mark Hinton
40 Gregory Steuerwald Mechelle Callen
41 Tim Brown Summer Ervin
42 Alan Morrison Evelyn Brown
43 Darrell Felling Tonya Pfaff
44 Beau Baird Kimberly Fidler
45 Bruce Borders Jim Exline
46 Bob Heaton Thomasina Marsili
47 John Young Susan Diagana
48 Doug Miller OPEN
49 Christy Stutzman Joseph Lehman
50 Dan Leonard Jorge Fernandez
51 Dennis Zent Michael Stephenson
52 Ben Smaltz Martha Lemmert
53 Bob Cherry Nancy Tibbett
54 Tom Saunders OPEN
55 Cindy Ziemke OPEN
56 Bradford Barrett Jeffrey Locke
57 Sean Eberhart OPEN
58 Woody Burton Cynthia Reinert
59 Ryan Lauer Dale Nowlin
60 Peggy Mayfield Penny Githens
61 OPEN Matt Pierce
62 Jeff Ellington Amy Swain
63 Shane Lindauer Joseph Lannan
64 Matt Hotsletter OPEN
65 Chris May Jared Stancombe
66 Mike Bowling Terry Goodin
67 Randy Frye OPEN
68 Randy Lyness Matt Gaustad
69 Jim Lucas Steve Schoettmer
70 Karen Engleman Sarah Stivers
71 Matt Owen Rita Fleming
72 Ed Clere Sam Charbonneau
73 Steve Davisson OPEN
74 Stephen Bartels Larry Kleeman
75 Ron Bacon John Hurley
76 Wendy McNamara Stephen Folz
77 OPEN Ryan Hatfield
78 Holli Sullivan OPEN
79 Matt Lehman OPEN
80 OPEN Phil GiaQuinta
81 Martin Carbaugh Kyle Miller
82 David Abbott Mike Wilber
83 Chris Judy OPEN
84 Bob Morris Curtis Nash
85 Dave Heine Christopher Rex
86 Ed Delaney OPEN
87 Paula Finch Carey Hamilton
88 Brian Bosma Poonam Gill
89 Cindy Kirchhofer John Barnes
90 Mike Speedy Tim Jeffers
91 Bob Behning Kevin Leineweber
92 OPEN Karlee Macer
93 David Frizzell Greg Rathnow
94 OPEN Cherrish Pryor
95 OPEN John Bartlett
96 OPEN Gregory Porter
97 OPEN Justin Moed
98 OPEN Robin Shackleford
99 OPEN Vannessa Summers
100 OPEN Dan Forestal

The material contained in this communication is informational, general in nature and does not constitute legal advice. The material contained in this communication should not be relied upon or used without consulting a lawyer to consider your specific circumstances. This communication was published on the date specified and may not include any changes in the topics, laws, rules or regulations covered. Receipt of this communication does not establish an attorney-client relationship. In some jurisdictions, this communication may be considered attorney advertising.

The Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP's cookies information for more details.