Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP, a Delaware limited liability partnership | This website contains attorney advertising.
March 01, 2017

Who's Who in the Trump Administration: A Cabinet Reference Guide

After nearly six weeks of nominations, committee hearings and confirmation votes, President Trump’s White House is beginning to take shape. The federal affairs leaders at Faegre Baker Daniels Consulting have created a reference guide outlining the background, policy positions and government experience of each member of Trump’s Cabinet, which should serve as a useful resource for entities with interests before the executive branch.

The Cabinet Reference Guide includes the nominees and appointees for each of the 15 Cabinet positions in the presidential line of succession:

  • Attorney General Jeff Sessions (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue (nominated; awaiting committee hearing)
  • Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Defense Gen. James Mattis (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Energy Rick Perry (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Health and Human Services Tom Price (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Homeland Security Gen. John Kelly (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Dr. Ben Carson (confirmed by Senate committee; awaiting full Senate vote)
  • Secretary of the Interior Ryan Zinke (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta (nominated; awaiting committee hearing)
  • Secretary of State Rex Tillerson (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Transportation Elaine Chao (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Treasury Steven Mnuchin (confirmed)
  • Secretary of Veterans Affairs Dr. David Shulkin (confirmed)

The reference guide does not include Trump’s seven additional Cabinet-level officials, who will serve in the president’s Cabinet but are not in the presidential line of succession:

  • Director of National Intelligence Dan Coats (confirmed)
  • U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Nikki Haley (confirmed)
  • U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer (nominated; awaiting committee hearing)
  • Administrator of the Small Business Administration Linda McMahon (confirmed)
  • Office of Management and Budget Director Mick Mulvaney (confirmed)
  • White House Chief of Staff Reince Priebus (appointed; Senate confirmation not required)
  • CIA Director Mike Pompeo (confirmed)
  • EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt (confirmed)

The material contained in this communication is informational, general in nature and does not constitute legal advice. The material contained in this communication should not be relied upon or used without consulting a lawyer to consider your specific circumstances. This communication was published on the date specified and may not include any changes in the topics, laws, rules or regulations covered. Receipt of this communication does not establish an attorney-client relationship. In some jurisdictions, this communication may be considered attorney advertising.

Related Policy, Advocacy, and Consulting Services

Related Industries

The Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP's cookies information for more details.