Murray Clark provides strategic legal and governmental affairs counsel to help clients advance their business goals. Having served as an Indiana State Senator for 11 years, Murray is an experienced navigator of government and administrative law. He represents clients in a variety of matters before local and state governments and agencies.

Real Estate and Land Use Law

Murray helps clients achieve strategically aligned outcomes in matters involving real estate and land use law, including planning, zoning, development and other regulatory issues, as well as financing. Murray negotiates business and commercial transaction agreements, loans and other financing packages, in addition to helping settle disputes.

Government Advocacy and Administrative Law

Before state and local administrative bodies and agencies, Murray represents clients on matters involving general government permitting, regulated industries and procurement activities.

Government and Political Experience

As an Indiana State Senator, Murray represented portions of Marion and Hamilton counties. He was chairman of Mitch Daniels' successful campaign for Indiana Governor in 2004 and chairman of the Indiana Republican Party from 2006 to 2010.

In the Indiana Senate, Murray was active in a wide range of issues and recognized repeatedly as an outstanding legislator. While in the General Assembly, he authored a successful bill providing for wholesale reform in Indiana's child protection and adoption process. Before leaving the Senate, Murray was the ranking member of two committees — Economic Development & Technology and Insurance & Financial Institutions — and chair of the Governmental Affairs Subcommittee.

Related Policy, Advocacy, and Consulting Services

Related Industries


Bar Admissions


Court Admissions

U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Indiana
U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana


Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law
J.D. (1982)

Kenyon College
B.A. (1979)

Insights & Events

Other Perspectives
  • Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee's (GIPC) 50th Anniversary Celebration
    Speaker, GIPC 50th Anniversary Celebration, September 15, 2015 
  • Indiana Forefront Blog: Stimulating Commentary From Hoosier Thought Leaders
    Regular Contributor, Indianapolis Business Journal, 2013-present
  • Indiana Needs to Pay Our Elected Leaders More
    Co-author, Indianapolis Star, May 23, 2013

Leadership & Community

Professional Associations

  • Indianapolis Bar Association — Land Use Section (Past Chairman)
  • Indiana State Bar Association
  • American Business Club
  • Lawyers Club of Indianapolis

Civic Activities

  • Riley Children's Foundation — Board of Governors
  • Indy Eleven Soccer Foundation — Board of Directors
  • Indianapolis Downtown, Inc. — Board
  • Brebeuf Jesuit — Board of Trustees (Former Chairman)
  • Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee (GIPC) — Board of Directors, Executive Committee (Chair, 2012-16) and Charles L. Whistler Award Committee (Current Chair)
  • St. Luke Catholic Church
  • Indianapolis Foundation, 2005-10 — Board of Trustees
  • Central Indiana Community Foundation, 2005-10 — Board of Trustees
  • Indiana Bar Foundation — Board of Directors, 2012-14
  • The Hundred Club (assisting families of fallen police officers and firefighters) — Board of Directors (President, 2008-09)
  • Nora Northside Community Council
  • Indiana Soccer Association — Board of Directors (President, 2007-16)


  • Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee (GIPC) — Charles L. Whistler Award, 2021
  • Indiana Soccer — President’s Award, 2019 
  • The Indiana Lawyer — Distinguished Barrister Award, 2016
  • Best Lawyers® — Administrative/Regulatory Law, 2008-24 (Lawyer of the Year - Administrative/Regulatory, 2017); Government Relations Practice, 2009-24 (Lawyer of the Year - Government Relations Practice, 2013)
  • Indianapolis Business Journal — Who's Who in Law, 2011
  • Indiana Super Lawyers — Real Estate, 2007-10
  • Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School — President's Medal (with wife Janet Clark), 2011
  • Indiana Bar Foundation — Fellow, 2010
  • Indiana Chamber of Commerce — Small Business Champion Award, 2004
  • National Federation of Independent Business — Guardian of Small Business Award, 2001
  • Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School — Fred B. McCashland Distinguished Alumnus Award, 2001
  • American Association of University Professors — Indiana Conference Legislative Leadership Award, 2001
  • Indiana Library Federation — Legislative Award, 1999
  • Indiana Life Coalition — Adoption Legislative Award, 1999
  • Indianapolis Business Journal — Forty Under 40 Award, 1997
  • Indiana State Bar Association — Land Use and Zoning Section Legislative Award, 1995
The Faegre Baker Daniels website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Baker Daniels' cookies information for more details.