September 08, 2022

What's New and What's Coming for Illinois Employers: 2022 and Beyond

Webinar

Overview

During the first half of 2022, the Illinois legislature and Chicago City Council passed a number of employment laws that impose new compliance obligations on Illinois employers. Some of those laws require employers to take affirmative steps to bring their employment practices into compliance, while other developments may require a broad examination of areas where potential liability could exist for employers. Aside from what has been happening legislatively, the Illinois Supreme Court and the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals have recently issued opinions (or are currently considering issues) that could have a profound impact on employers in Illinois. During this webinar, we will address recent changes to Illinois employment laws, including those impacting Chicago employers, as well as provide an update on recent and pending cases coming out of the federal and state courts in Illinois. Specifically, we will discuss:

  • The Illinois Equal Pay Registration Certification process
  • New sexual harassment training obligations for Chicago employers
  • Expansion of Illinois’ bereavement law to cover family members
  • Amendment to the One Day Rest in Seven Act
  • New hairstyle protections against discrimination through the CROWN Act
  • New contractor liability for subcontractor wage claims
  • New notice and expanded damages under the Chicago Fair Workweek Ordinance
  • Court opinions addressing the Illinois Biometric Information Privacy Act

Time

9:30 – 10:30 a.m. PT
10:30 – 11:30 a.m. MT
11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. CT
12:30 – 1:30 p.m. ET
5:30 – 6:30 p.m. BST

Have a scheduling conflict? Register for the live event and we’ll send you the on-demand recording shortly after the broadcast date.

Questions? Please contact Kelley Stephens or call +1 317 237 1161.

Continuing Education Credit

This program will be sent to the following state bars requesting approval: CA, CO, CT, DE, IA, IL, IN, MN, NJ, NY, PA, TX and VA. As well as HRCI/SHRM.

All approvals are at the decision of the state bar based on content and deadlines.

No applications are currently pending.

The CLE provider for this event, CEU Institute (national CLE provider) will seek 1.25 hours General Law credit for this program.

Please check back closer to the event date for updated credit information.

Register

Related Legal Services

The Faegre Baker Daniels website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Baker Daniels' cookies information for more details.