July 07, 2022

Immigrating into or Exiting the U.S.: Navigating India and U.S. Tax Law

Webinar

Overview

Join attorneys from Faegre Drinker and Vaish Associates for a discussion on tax law in the U.S. and India as it relates to gifts and estates. We will discuss how these laws apply to individuals and families who are considering immigrating to the U.S., or those who are returning to India after obtaining residency or citizenship in the U.S. Specifically, we will go over: 

  • Tax pitfalls and tax planning strategies
  • The Unified Estate and Gift Tax
  • The applicability of the U.S. Exit Tax
  • FEMA and India Tax considerations for emigrating to the U.S.
  • The Black Money Act

Time

7:00 – 8:00 a.m. CT 
8:00 – 9:00 a.m. ET
5:30 – 6:30 p.m. IST

Presenters

  • Mona Ghude, Partner, Faegre Drinker
  • Elaine M. Kumpula, Partner, Faegre Drinker
  • Larissa R. Whitman, Partner, Faegre Drinker
  • Bomi Daruwala, Joint Managing Partner, Vaish Associates

Questions? Please contact Heather Sanders or call +1 215 988 1127.

Continuing Education Credit

This program has been approved only for the following continuing legal education credits:

  • California: 1 hour participatory general credit
  • New Jersey: 1 reciprocal hour of CLE credit
  • New York: 1 reciprocal hour of professional practice credit

An application for approval of this course has been submitted and is pending in the following states: Minnesota and Pennsylvania.

A certificate will be provided for India participants who request credit: CPD Lawyer/Solicitor – 1 hour.

Register

Related Industries

The Faegre Baker Daniels website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Baker Daniels' cookies information for more details.