March 13, 2023

U.K. Immigration: Statement of Changes, 9 March 2023 – Points of Interest

The Home Office has released the first Statement of Changes for 2023. Here are some of the most important changes announced on this occasion:

Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA)

  • The application process for ETA will open on 25 October 2023 for Qatari nationals who intend to travel to the U.K. on or after 15 November 2023.
  • On 1 February 2024, the ETA application process will open for nationals of Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, The UAE and Saudi Arabia. This will be for individuals intending to travel after 22 February 2024.

Innovator Founder Visa / Start-Up Visa

  • The introduction of the Innovator Founder route to replace the Innovator and Start-Up routes. This new visa route removes the requirement of having funds of a minimum of £50,000 in order to be eligible for its predecessor, the Innovator visa.
  • From 13 April 2023, the Start-Up route will close to new applicants, except for those who received endorsements before the same date.

Skilled Worker and Global Business Mobility: Senior or Specialist Worker Visa

  • The Skilled Worker visa minimum annual salary threshold has been increased to £26,200. The Global Business Mobility: Senior or Specialist Worker minimum annual salary threshold has been increased to £45,800. The new salary thresholds will be in effect from 12 April 2023.
  • Minimum salary thresholds and occupation code “going rates” will now be based on 37.5-hour weeks.

Expansion Worker Visa

  • Australian nationals and permanent residents will not be required to demonstrate at least 12 months of employment with their overseas employer as part of a U.K. Expansion Worker application.

Youth Mobility Visa

  • Australia has been allotted 5,000 extra places for the Youth Mobility Scheme. Canada has been allotted 2,000 extra places.
  • Maximum allocation of places available under the Youth Mobility Scheme are now:
    • Australia - 35,000 places
    • Canada - 8,000 places
    • Hong Kong - 1,000 places
    • Iceland – 1,000 places
    • India – 3,000 places
    • Japan - 1,500 places
    • Monaco - 1,000 places
    • New Zealand - 13,000 places
    • Republic of Korea - 1,000 places
    • San Marino - 1,000 places
    • Taiwan - 1,000 places
  • New Zealand nationals aged between 18-35 will be eligible to apply for the Youth Mobility Scheme, a considerable increase to the previous maximum age limit of 30. The maximum length of stay permissible for New Zealand nationals granted a visa under this scheme has been increased from two-to-three years. This is in response to enhanced bilateral agreement between the U.K. and New Zealand.

The information in this summary is not intended to act as legal advice. We recommend that individuals seek legal counsel if they intend to utilise this information.

The Faegre Baker Daniels website uses cookies to make your browsing experience as useful as possible. In order to have the full site experience, keep cookies enabled on your web browser. By browsing our site with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Review Faegre Baker Daniels' cookies information for more details.